Industry News

PIMS Holds 146th Commencement Exercise

Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science held its 146th commencement exercise Jan. 18, 2013, at the Calvary Episcopal Church, according to a news release.

The graduating class, their families and friends were welcomed to the formal cap and gown ceremony by PIMS president Eugene C. Ogrodnik. The commencement address was delivered by. Donald B. Deaner who delivered an inspirational address titled “Making Your Mark.” Deaner is a past-president of Pennsylvania Funeral Directors Association and owner of Deaner Funeral Homes in Berlin, Stoystown, and Hooversville, PA. Prior to his address, Deaner was presented the PIMS Lifetime Achievement Award by Ogrodnik.

The Funeral Service Oath was administered by Dr. Barry T. Lease, and the graduating class was presented by Dr. Joseph A. Marsaglia, Dean of Faculty and Students. Dean Marsaglia also recognized Dr. Barry T. Lease for his guidance as class faculty adviser and his recent conferment of his doctoral degree.

Candidates to receive the Diploma in Embalming and Funeral Directing are:

Sheldon Banks of Saginaw, MI; Josiah Bull of Downingtown, PA; Lauren Haberman of Pittsburgh, PA; Daniel Harrison of Forty Fort, PA; Rebecca Johnson of Hermitage, PA; Christopher Kingman of New Castle, PA; Tamara Hall of Philadelphia, PA; John Lutz of Reading, PA; Rebecca Mamaeff of West Mifflin, PA; Kelsey McGill of Greensburg, PA; Courtney Meyer (Cum Laude) of Kittanning, PA; Bethany Moscalink of Uniontown, PA; Stephanie Owen (Student Senator) of Hadley, PA; Dalton Parker of Petrolia, PA; Lindsey Piatek of Vandergrift, PA; Sadie Schultheis of Monaca, PA; David Snyder of Sheakleyville, PA; Hilary Talbot of Pittsburgh, PA; Lindsay Temchack (Cum Laude) of Houtzdale, PA and Barbara Theis of Greensburg, PA.

Candidates to receive the Associate in Specialized Technology Degree, Funeral Service Arts and Sciences are: Mark Barbee of Ravenna, OH; Jessica Bowers of Berkley Springs, WV; Jeremy Brown of Danville, WV; Jeremy Corey of Mars Hill, ME; Jacob Creamer of Wintersville, OH; Lindsey Deaner (Cum Laude) of Stoystown, PA; Beth Anne Dickinson of Tyrone, PA; Alan Dixon of Manassas, VA; Rebekah Eames Deal of Canonsburg, PA; Patricia Frey of La Anna, PA; Samantha Hess (Student Senator) of New Kensington, PA; Samuel Heydinger of New London, OH; Leslie Anne Humbert (Summa Cum Laude) of Confluence, PA; Kelly Hy (Student Senate President) of Cherry Hill, NJ; Susan King (Cum Laude) of Stuart, FL; Rebecca Knee of Pittsburgh, PA; Mara Kokis of Westbrook, CT; Carly McGarvey of Wernersville, PA; Jared Mosti of Steubenville, OH; Amber Mounts of Gilbert, WV; Kyle Overton of White Plains, KY; Chad Payne of Columbus, OH; Andrew Reinsel of Oil City, PA; Geoff Richter of Connellsville, PA; Robert Schellhaas of Pittsburgh, PA; Justin Spitler of Montoursville, PA; Richard Tavalsky (Cum Laude) of Johnstown, PA; Amanda Valenzuela of Chula Vista, CA; Austin Wagley of Mt. Pleasant, MI; and TaCory Williams of Arnold, MD.

Graduates receiving the Associate in Specialized Business Degree, Funeral Service Management are:

Travis Brown of Royersford, PA; Hanna Carpenter of Parkersburg, WV; Valerie Coffman of Taos, NM; John Doherty of Morganville, NJ; Jennifer Ketter of Cranberry Twp., PA; Zachary Pittenger of Antes Fort, PA; Craig Serfozo of Pittsburgh, PA; Cory Wagner of New Castle, PA; and Megan Wilhelm of Leechburg, PA.

Professor David Miller from Thiel College presented a Bachelor of Science degree to TaCory Williams. TaCory attended Thiel College for three years and her final year at PIMS as part of a baccalaureate degree program developed in cooperation with PIMS and Thiel College.

Special Awards were also presented at the commencement. The MEMORIAL AWARD was presented to Kelly Hy who was chosen by her classmates as the student who, through qualities of leadership, professional conduct and good citizenship, best typifies the ideals of the student body. The JOHN REBOL AWARD was presented to Leslie Humbert who had maintained the highest scholastic average for the school year 2012. The WILLIAM J. MUSMANNO MEMORIAL AWARD was presented to Alan Dixon in recognition of his outstanding ability, attitude, commitment and achievement in the clinical setting. The PIERCE CHEMICAL/ROYAL BOND AWARD was presented to Leslie Humbert in recognition of her outstanding ability, commitment, attitude and achievement in the areas of restorative art and cosmetology. Mr. Michael Kuruc, representative from the Pierce Chemical/Royal Bond company made this award available.

Ten percent of the graduates received the MU SIGMA ALPHA AWARD which is the honorary society established by the National Association of Colleges of Mortuary Science and gives recognition to those students who have displayed outstanding merit in scholarship and who have conducted themselves as good citizens of the schools they attended. The recipients of the Mu Sigma Alpha Award are: Rebekah Eames-Deal, Samantha Hess, Kelly Hy, Stephanie Owens, and Amanda Valenzuela.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, student senate president Kelly Hy gave her closing farewell remarks and classmate Hilary Talbot lead the congregation in the traditional singing of America the Beautiful.

Posted Jan. 23, 2013


2017 ICCFA Annual Convention & Expo...
CANA, CTQ, FSAC Partnership Brings ...
Homesteaders Sponsors Second Volume...
More industry news